Swept Away with Marsha Canham

Dana Taylor: Hi Babes! I’m very excited to have USA bestselling author, Marsha Canham, as our guest at BLB. Marsha has been around the block, as they say, in the publishing business. She’s enjoyed a successful career as a traditionally published author of historical romances and now she’s “gone Indie.” The Following Sea (The Pirate Wolf series)

I’ve enjoyed her very frank posts in the Writer’s Café at Kindle Boards talking about the book industry. She tells it like it is on her blog site, Marsha Canham’s Blog. Quickie Contest: Make a comment or ask a question to be eligible for a FREE copy of Marsha’s latest release, THE FOLLOWING SEA.

Tell me, have you gotten any backlash from publishers or traditional authors by “going Indie?”

Amazon's Complete Selection of Marsha Canham BooksMarsha Canham: Funny you should ask that now when all the Indies are up in arms over a blanket statement by  Jodi Piccoult in a recent interview telling authors NOT TO SELF PUBLISH. According to her wisdom and pithy perceptions, we’ve “not yet separated the wheat from the chaff” and “There’s a lot of crap out there, and one day we may find a way to segregate well written self published fiction from that stuff which anyone can throw on Amazon, but I just don’t think we’re there yet ” 

I guess that means I’m not there yet LOL!   So to answer your question, the only backlash seems to come from authors who think like publishing houses, that a system that has worked for a hundred years should continue to work for a hundred more. Problem is, a hundred years ago there was no such thing as the internet or ereaders.  What we read is up to us, the readers, and we can choose to read an Indie book, or we can choose to read a traditionally published book. By telling authors NOT to self publish, she’s not only denying the author the right to publish …and believe me, back when I began, if I thought ten people might read my first book, it would have been a thrill and inspired me to keep writing and keep improving my craft… but she’s denying the readers the opportunity to read some damn good books that publishing houses either don’t think fit into their line of works, or they like the book, they just don’t have room for it.

DT: Kind reminds me of the guy who wanted to close down the United States Patent Office in the early 20th century because “everything has already been invented!” Marsha, you write wonderful, swashbuckling romantic tales. Can you give people who might be unfamiliar with your work an idea of what inspires you and what they’ll be likely to find in a Marsha Canham story?

MC: Dana, before we close, let me thank you for inviting me on your blog. I’ve also enjoyed the interaction on the Kindle Boards, it’s a great group of people, readers and authors alike, who share information and give advice generously.Product Details

Hmmm…what are readers likely to find? Well, I have been dubbed the Queen of Swashbuckling Romance by Romantic Times on several occasions. I enjoy writing historical romances with a lot of action and adventure and try to put the words onto paper the way I see the scenes playing out in my mind, like a film.  I choose eras to place my stories in that have always fascinated me, like Medieval England or theScottishHighlands, or my ultimate favorite, the high-seas. My most recent book, an original straight to ebook format, is The Following Sea, which completes the Pirate Wolf Trilogy begun with Across A Moonlit Sea and The Iron Rose. A lot of swashing and buckling, sea battles, land battles, lost treasure galleons, and of course, romance.

 Marsha Canham  Bio: I was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario. Writing mostly historical romances set in many of my favorite periods and themes: medieval, pirate, regency, Scottish. My books have won many awards from Romantic Times, including Best Historical of the Year, Best Swashbuckler of the Year, Best Medieval of the Year, Storyteller of the Year, and I have twice received Lifetime Achievement Awards. The Iron Rose won accolades from Publishers Weekly for being one of the seven best fiction books of the year. My novels have consistently appeared on USA Today bestseller lists. Nasty rumors of my retirement have been greatly exaggerated.

Quickie Contest: Make a comment or ask a question to be eligible for a FREE copy of THE FOLLOWING SEA from Marsha.

12 responses

  1. Was great to read this and see someone who’s made it traditionally and is now going a different direction. Thanks for sharing.

    1. KCarey, it’s been pretty great to know that books that have been sitting on a shelf for 25 years gathering dust are getting to have a second life through ebooks, and that new books can bypass the year-long wait it usually takes to go from manuscript to printed book.

  2. Gah! What nasty rumors! Step on them & squash them with your stone tablet & chisel. I’ll help you. We trogs need to stick together.

    1. LOL Ruth. Definitely, we do.

  3. Hi Marsha, I am sorry to say I have not read your books before but will start looking for them. The Following Sea sound really good and I would love to read it. Do you ever base a book on things from real life?

  4. Hi Marsha, I’ve loved your books since the first medieval I discovered, then combed every bookstore I could to locate all the others. I’ve not yet read your epubbed–I ‘must’ get an ereader.

    1. Thank you Barbara. Epub is the wave of the future. And…you can carry 6000 books around in your purse!

    2. Hi Barbara, replying to you just in case since I know a few people who thought they could only read .mobi (Amazon ebooks) on a Kindle and felt they couldn’t read books they found:

      Amazon has applications that allow you to open Kindle books on your PC and various other platforms, so you don’t actually need an ereader to start reading ebooks if there’s something you want to read now, before you’re able to get a device. 🙂

      Here’s a link to the “Kindle Apps” page for all formats (computer, mobile phones, etc):
      http://amzn.to/IJlatr

      (Note: I had to shorten the URL, since it’s about 4 lines long!)

  5. VIrginia, Most of my books are historical romances, based heavily on some real historical event. The event might be obscure, a footnote in a history book, or it might be huge, like the building of the armada by Spain. But I can’t think of a single book that doesn’t have real historical facts inside. And real people. Most readers may not recognize some of the names and characters I use, but my friends and neighbors are all in the books LOL Auntie Flo in Swept Away, for instance, was based on the real Aunt Florence, right down to the thwacking cane.

  6. I must admit I hadn’t read a MC book until I saw her candid remarks at Kindle Boards about the book industry. I have a lot to catch up on, but the ones I’ve read had been wonderful.

  7. Marsha, I bought and read some of your books over 12 years ago — Blood of Roses and Pale Moon Rider especially stick in my mind as the stories I adored most (especially Pale Moon Rider, because I have always been in love with the poem “The Highwayman”).

    I saw a link to your response to Jodi Picoult from another blog, and I remember furrowing my brows and thinking, “Wait a minute. Why does her name seem so familiar to me?” I was delighted to see who it was when I got to your blog, and just want to say I greatly enjoyed your books and am very happy you’re self-pubbing these days. It’s definitely the way to go!

    1. Oops, for some reason the name came up as ‘Sen’ (a nickname) when I meant to log in as ‘Mallika’.

Leave a Reply

