Late to the Game by Lisa Scott

 

 Lisa Scott 

            I used to work as a morning news anchor, which meant I got up at 3 a.m. and went to bed at 8 if I was lucky (And I usually wasn’t very lucky. I also probably shaved a few years off my life in the process; I was constantly exhausted.)  But this also meant no prime time TV. I was so out of the loop on current TV shows, I didn’t even know where the loop was.  I’ve never even watched American Idol or Dancing with the Stars.  Enough said.

            But when I lost my job and started working at home, I had some time on my hands—and a later bedtime.  I discovered a bunch of great shows everyone had been talking about and had several seasons worth to gobble up on Netflix.  I watched four seasons of The Office in two weeks. (I knew Pam and Jim were going to get together!) Five seasons of Lost in two months.  It’s incredible to be able to watch back-to-back shows without the angst of waiting.  (And it was easier to remember some of the complicated twists and clues in Lost.  I’m still confused about the ending, though.)The Hot Girl's Friend (from Flirts! 5 Romantic Short Stories)

            I’m the same way with books, too.  I was late to the Harry Potter series, so there were four books waiting for me that I devoured over the course of a few weeks.  Diana Gabaldon was just releasing book number five in her Outlander series, so I had months of incredible writing to enjoy there, too.  (Those are some big books, baby.) And now, intrigued by the movie trailer to Janet Evanovitch’s One for the Money, I’ve started reading her hilarious Stephanie Plum series.  With eighteen books out, I’ll be set for a while.  (Although I have been reading them at a rate of one every two days.  I really should pace myself.)

            I’m sure there are many other great series out there waiting to be discovered.  What are some of your favorites?  If you sat next to me on the subway and saw me with my kindle, what would you insist I download?  Have you ever been lucky enough to find a series after the fact?

***

From BLB–TV news’ loss is our gain. Lisa is busy writing fun, flirty books. Discover Lisa’s breezy style for FREE through her short story, THE HOT GIRL’S FRIEND, at Amazon. Look for the entire FLIRTS series–perfect vacation reading–or when you need a vacation!

7 responses

  1. Help me out peeps. I’ve only got one Stephanie Plum book left since I wrote this post!

  2. Hi Lisa!
    Sounds like you turned your lemons into lemonade – good for you!

    I would insist that you download the Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R.Ward – some yummy paranormal goodness in that series, and her latest just came out this week! (And it is sitting on my coffee table, patiently waiting for me…).
    If you like romantic suspense of the thriller variety, Leslie Tentler’s Chasing Evil Trilogy series just completed itself last month – Midnight Caller, Midnight Fear, and Edge of Midnight (which I am reading currently,on my phone, on my kindle, on my computer whenever I can sneak away — excellence!)
    For fun breezy style (ala you!) I suggest: Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ and Kristan Higgans’ books – both are giggly/real girl fun. Taxes got you down? Try Diane Kelly, a CPA, formerly with the IRS, whose debut Death, Taxes, and a French Manicure puts a fun spin on them – plus she gives out tax tips to writers to boot!
    Historical Romance? I love Tessa Dare’s delicious historicals (Goddess of the Hunt, Song of the Siren, and Lady of Persuasion, and her newest, A Week to be Wicked) , and Manda Collins is a debut author with an intriguing series to try, the Ugly Duckling Series – How to Dance With A Duke, How to Romance a Rake.
    Oh there are so many wonderful authors to tell you about – if only I could take up this whole space to give you more! I envy you your journey!
    And the best thing? All but BDB by JRWard stand alone with linked themes, so don’t worry about picking up #2 and then getting #3.
    Enjoy!

    1. Wow, Pamela, you’ve given me a whole slew of new people to check out! Question– is there any author in particular you would like to see be a guest at Book Luvin’ Babes? Dana

      1. Lisa, I think Leslie Tentler and Manda Collins would be two new, fresh authors for your blog readers to discover. Thanks for asking!

  3. Wow Pamela, you should work in a book store or library. Thanks for the suggestions! I should’ve also mentioned I love love british author Jill Mansell, and she has several books out to gobble up.

  4. Darlene Pettigrew | Reply

    Thank you Pamela, I’m going to check out the romantic suspense books you listed…I go through a book a night, so I’m always looking for new ones. Lisa, great idea coming up with this blog. I just lost all my books on my IPad when I upgraded it, but when I get a chance to go to my account on Kindle, I will get some of the series I have read and post them on here.

  5. A book a night! That would be a great name for a blog! Wonder if you could turn out a review a night? Do you have any favorite series, Darlene?

Leave a Reply

